Owen's 'The Falls of Sioux': A Sonic Journey of Resilience and Growth By Francis Madden

In a revelation that's sure to set hearts aflutter in the indie music world, Owen has just unveiled plans for their upcoming album, "The Falls of Sioux." Set for release on April 26th via Polyvinyl Record Co., this latest offering emerges as a collaboration between Owen's mastermind, Mike Kinsella, and co-producers Sean Carey (of Bon Iver fame) and Zach Hanson (known for his work with Bon Iver, Low, and Waxahatchee).

For fans eagerly awaiting a taste of what's to come, today brings a double delight: the announcement of the album and the unveiling of its lead single and accompanying video, "Beaucoup." In this track, Kinsella's sonic exploration takes a captivating turn, drawing from his recent sonic odyssey with cousin Nate in their avant-garde project LIES. It's a departure from the expected, weaving acoustic guitar with layers of shoegaze textures and pulsating electronic beats.

The accompanying music video, shot in a clandestine Chicago speakeasy concealed behind the facade of a janitor's closet, adds another layer of intrigue to the song's ambiguous allure. Kinsella himself muses on its nature, questioning whether "Beaucoup" is a fervent declaration of love or an ode to desire, beautifully captured by the lens of Weird Life Productions.

In "The Falls of Sioux," Kinsella's songwriting prowess reaches new heights, building upon the intricate emotional landscapes laid bare in previous albums like "The Avalanche." While his journey has been marked by trials and tribulations, this latest offering signals a turning point—a testament to resilience and growth. Themes of loss and upheaval are met with a newfound sense of acceptance and even levity, reflecting Kinsella's evolution both as an artist and as a person.

Collaborators old and new lend their talents to the album, including Now, Now's KC Dalager and Russell Durham, who crafts stunning string arrangements. The result is a sonic tapestry that feels simultaneously familiar and fresh, a testament to Kinsella's willingness to embrace the unexpected.

"The Falls of Sioux" isn't just another album; it's a reflection of an artist coming into his own, unafraid to embrace vulnerability and authenticity. As the music unfurls, it's clear that Kinsella has rounded a corner in his creative journey—one that invites listeners to join him in celebrating the complexities of life and the beauty found within them.

Upcoming Tour Dates:

25 - Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
29 - Providence, RI @ Alchemy
30 - Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom

01 - Boston, MA @ Sonia
02 - New York, NY @ Sultan Room
03 - Philadelphia, PA @ Philadelphia Ethical Society
04 - Washington, DC @ Songbyrd

03 - Barcelona, ES @ Heliogàbal
08 - London, UK @ Oslo
09 - Leeds, UK@ Brudenell

24 - San Diego, CA @ Voodoo Room
25 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
26 - San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill

05 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
06 - Seattle, WA @ Madame Lous
22 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
23 - Buffalo, NY @ Ninth Ward
24 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
25 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
-Francis Madden

Leave a comment