Laura Jane Grace Marks a Transformative Journey with New Single "Birds Talk Too" and Announces U.S. and Canadian Tour Dates


Polyvinyl Record Co. and rock icon Laura Jane Grace are gearing up for the release of her highly anticipated album, "Hole In My Head," on Friday, February 16. Grace recently unveiled the latest single, "Birds Talk Too," a song that commemorates a profound experience during her travels. The track, available for streaming on YouTube, is a musical ode to Amsterdam, featuring lyrical references to iconic locations like Schipol airport, Rookies cannabis cafe, and the favorite strain, Champagne Haze.

The inspiration behind "Birds Talk Too" traces back a decade when Japanese tattoo artist Gakkin gifted Grace a hand-painted Gretsch guitar after completing an extensive tattooing journey around the world. The intricate design on the guitar served as the catalyst for the creation of this soulful and reflective single.

Recorded at Native Sound in St. Louis, MO, with David Beeman and mixed by Matt Allison, "Hole In My Head" promises a sonic journey filled with warm '50s rock-influenced guitar riffs, poignant lyrics, love letters to new surroundings, and reflections on a punk life well-lived. Drive-By Truckers bassist Matt Patton contributes to a full-band sound on over half of the album, enhancing the musical experience.

Laura Jane Grace, recognized by Billboard as one of the "50 Greatest Rock Lead Singers Of All Time," has consistently used her music to address political commentary, environmentalism, social critique, and personal exploration. "Hole In My Head" continues this tradition, presenting 11 tracks that capture the nuances of humanity in an oddly optimistic manner.

From the scrappy acoustic anthem "Dysphoria Hoodie" to the Jonathan Richman-inspired "I’m Not A Cop" and the nostalgic "Punk Rock in Basements," the album delves into Grace's travels and adopted homes. "Birds Talk Too," written in Amsterdam, stands out as a testament to her recent experience of having her head shaved and tattooed by Gakkin.

The album also reflects on Grace's connection with St. Louis, where she now owns Jajouka, a warehouse studio with a rich musical history. "Tacos and Toast," a laid-back track, expresses the ease of living in her part-time home.

As Laura Jane Grace gears up for the album release, she's set to embark on a U.S. and Canadian tour in 2024. The tour, featuring support from Worriers, Sam Russo, Thelma and the Sleaze, and Dikembe on select dates, promises to be a vibrant celebration of Grace's colorful and ever-changing journey in the world of music. Stay tuned for additional tour dates to be announced soon.

16 — Chicago, IL — Sleeping Village (Hole In My Head album release show) &

02 — Indianapolis, IN — The Vogue ^
03 — Columbus, OH — A&R Music Bar ^
05 — Pittsburgh, PA — Spirit Hall ^
06 — Philadelphia, PA — Underground Arts ^ 
08 — Hamden, CT — Space Ballroom ^
09 — New York, NY — Racket ^
10 — Somerville, MA — Crystal Ballroom at Somerville Theatre ^
12 — Washington, DC — Howard Theatre ^
13 — Virginia Beach, VA —Elevation 27 ^
15 — Durham, NC — Motorco Music Hall ^
16 — Knoxville, TN — Bijou Theatre ^
17 — Nashville, TN — City Winery ^
19 — New Orleans, LA — Tipitina’s ^
20 — Birmingham, AL — Saturn ^
22 — San Antonio, TX — Paper Tiger ^
23 — Houston, TX — Warehouse Live Midtown ^
24 — Fort Worth, TX — Tulips ^

10 — Milwaukee, WI — Vivarium + 
11 — Grand Rapids, MI — The Pyramid Scheme + 
12 — Kitchener, ON — The Hub + 
14 — Kingston, ON — The Broom Factory + 
15 — Toronto, ON — The Axis Club + 
17 — Hamilton, ON — Bridgeworks #
18 — Ottawa, ON — Brass Monkey + 
19 — Montreal, QC — Pouzza Fest 
21 — Sudbury, ON — The Grand + 
22 — Oshawa, ON — Biltmore Theatre + 
24 — Detroit, MI — El Club + 
25 — Cleveland Heights, OH — Grog Shop + 
26 — Covington, KY — Madison Theater + 

5—7 — Gilbert, PA — Camp Punkslyvania 

^ — with Thelma and the Sleaze, Dikembe
& — with Sincere Engineer (solo), CalicoLoco
+ — with Worriers and Sam Russo
# — with Sam Russo

Leave a comment